I am confused. . .

This is my post from a group I belong to for the Waterford Weslyan Church.

Sorry for being first to post again and I promise I will edit out a lot of the notes I have been making but here goes. . .
How do we keep kids from falling away from the church? I’ve been making a lot of notes on this since I saw the video and the more I think about it the more complex the answer tends to be. This is just so complicated that I don’t think there is a one size fits all answer to this. I can only give a few examples of my childhood that I believe helped me over the years.
I was fortunate that both my Mom and Dad were active in our church and watching how they lived and treated people was certainly a big plus for me. I do think it is important that kids are exposed to church activities as much as possible; I remember going to our churches monthly covered dish or spaghetti suppers where we were around Christians of all shapes and sizes. I helped my dad most Saturdays take care of the church lawn and gardens; a simple thing but it teaches you how to serve the church and God.
When I was being shipped to Utapao Thailand in 1967 one of my moms relatives (Rev Thomas P. Dean) presented me with a small pocket New Testament and while I may not have always read it – I carried it with me wherever I went and still have it to this day and I take it out and thumb through it. It is little things like this that plant these tiny seeds somewhere in the back of your mind that help our faith journey.
Sometimes just being around the right mix of people makes a big difference. I remember when a group of men were talking after church and Manual Beito said to my dad “Henry, I’m a Cuban and you’re a Cracker and we are going to be friends”. That was the beginning of a lifelong friendship.
These are just some miscellaneous thoughts. I hope I haven’t bored everyone.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

